2020 Distinguished Teaching Award recipients announced

Among them is Paul Block, a member of the GHI Advisory Committee, and Andrea Hicks, a GHI Planetary Health Advisor. Congratulations!

Thirteen faculty members have been chosen to receive this year’s Distinguished Teaching Awards, an honor given out since 1953 to recognize the university’s finest educators. Chancellor Rebecca Blank will present the awards at a 5 p.m. ceremony April 7 at the Pyle Center. The ceremony, sponsored by the Office of the Secretary of the Faculty, is free and open to the public. (RSVP is highly encouraged).

The recipients are:

Paul Block, associate professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Emil Stieger Teaching Award

William Brockliss, associate professor, Classical & Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Class of 1955 Teaching Excellence Award

Samuel Butcherprofessor, biochemistry, Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching Award

Shuchi Chawlaprofessor, Computer Sciences, Chancellor’s Teaching Innovation Award

Kathleen Culverassociate professor, Journalism & Mass Communication, William H. Kiekhofer Teaching Award

Ramzi Fawazassociate professor, English, Chancellor’s Inclusive Excellence Award

Christine Garloughprofessor, Gender & Women’s Studies, Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching Award

Erica Halversonprofessor, Curriculum & Instruction, Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching Award

Andrea Hicksassistant professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering, Excellence in Community-Based Learning Teaching Award

Irena Knezevicprofessor, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching Award

Lori Lopezassociate professor, Communication Arts, Chancellor’s Inclusive Excellence Award

Jennifer Ratner-Rosenhagenprofessor, history, Chancellor’s Distinguished Teaching Award

Kate Vieiraassociate professor, Curriculum & Instruction, Van Hise Outreach Teaching Award

This story first appeared at news.wisc.edu

January 23, 2020